Resource Council

BRAVO Resource Council members
BRAVO Resource Council members Monica Hayes, Scott Showalter and Kristen Brayson join PPS Superintendent Carole Smith and others at the BRAVO/Oregon Symphony side-by-side in 2016. Photo by Rich Kolbell

The BRAVO Resource Council is a group of champions for our students and close advisors to our staff leadership and board. These friends of our organization share strategic advice, participate in planning special events, develop organizational partnerships, help BRAVO reach new audiences, and support our programs in a variety of other ways. We gratefully acknowledge their significant contributions and their passion for the young musicians we serve.


Nan Anderson – Faculty, Multnomah Arts Center; former BRAVO board member

Jennifer Arnold – Violist, Oregon Symphony; faculty member, Community Music Center

Inés Voglar Belgique – Violinist, Oregon Symphony; conductor, Portland Youth Philharmonic

Kristen Brayson – District Arts Coordinator, Portland Public Schools

Bill Crane – Director of Audience Engagement, Portland Piano International

David De Lyser – Director of Orchestral Programs, University of Portland

Oscar Fernandez, Ph.D. – University Studies, Portland State University

Jim Fullan – Arts marketing consultant

Monica Hayes – Education & Community Programs Director, Oregon Symphony

David Kerr – Owner, David Kerr Violin Shop; founding member Portland Baroque Orchestra

Sarah Kwak – Concertmaster, Oregon Symphony; Executive Director, Classical Up Close

Kevin Lefohn – Violin faculty, University of Portland and Pacific University

Robert Lockwood – Music Director, Portland Revels; Information Systems, New Seasons

Rosie Lovings – Retired Family Involvement Coordinator, Rosa Parks School

Linda Magee – Nonprofit management expert and consultant

Vali Phillips – violinist, Oregon Symphony

Peter Reagan, M.D. – Retired family practice physician,  official BRAVO Board Gopher

Diana Scoggins – Executive Director, Metropolitan Youth Symphony

Bill Scott – Co-chair, SUN Schools Coordinating Council

Scott Showalter – President & CEO, Oregon Symphony

Barre Stoll – Board of Trustees, Portland State University Foundation

Stanford Thompson – Founder & Executive Director, Play on Philly (PA)

George Thorn – Founding Associate, Arts Action Research

Daniel Trahey – Artistic Liaison, OrchKids (MD)

Julie Vigeland – Board of Directors, National Assembly of State Arts Agencies

Christa Wessel – On-air Host, 91.5 All Classical Portland radio station

Lynn Williams – Presidential Award winner for Excellence in Teaching, Alaska

Kathryn Wyatt – Executive Director, El Sistema USA; former Executive Director, Kidznotes (NC)